addertwist:

skull-bearer:

addertwist:

skull-bearer:

addertwist:

skull-bearer:

otachistongue:

addertwist:

so I was just doodling my kaiju!Hermann idea (sorry otachistongue I was doing the throat thing before I found your stuff, I’m sorry)

and then I decided it needed more detail

then shading

then full on sunset light/shadow?

anyway yeah the idea is that there are infiltrator-class kaiju, like Hermann, who adapt over time to be anatomically similar enough to whatever the Masters send them after that, after a couple of months of observation, they can grow a false skin and pass as the species they’re infiltrating to casual observers and it’s all complicated and wonderful and they have to shed sometimes and to conserve resources and keep discreet they redigest the skin by eating it and

I don’t fucking know have kaijuHermann and I’m bed

EDITED TO ADD:

this is a WIP that I’ll probably abandon bc I’m shitty like that but also because I have no time. It was just meant to be a doodle, not… this. Fuck you very much, Hermann Gottleib Kaiju Edition. Stop making me draw you.

*rubs face all over perfect kaiju!Hermann* Look at his ears. Lookathisears. LOOK AT HIS EARS. 

Ohhhhh why did you have to go talk about his other anatomy in your tags ‘cause now I want visual representation. Yessssss. Because I love this so much. He looks so amazing.

Do we share a headspace or something because I swear that’s my fic series. Complete with infiltrator and skin growing and he even LOOKS like my Hermann holy shit. O_o

I need this. I need this I need this oh my – fhfh. Please leave a link here. And can we talk about this concept because wow I have ideas and I thought I was the only one and it’s just SUCH A COOL IDEA because think of how self-loathing and ridiculous his sneering at Newton is, think of how much it must make his stomach turn uncomfortably that Newt, lucky human Newt who’s never known the terrible grasp of the things which steer the kaiju, has commemorated the ones which have killed thousands of his species like it’s all something bright and delightful, has written that across his skin. Just, oh my god. Imagine his expression the first time he saw those tat-sleeves. (Imagine his expression the first time Newt came into the lab still in the process of getting dressed and the tattoos keep going.)
TALK TO ME ABOUT KAIJU HERMANN.

The series is Anteverse Refugee here:
http://archiveofourown.org/series/55561 and yeah, Hermann has his own views on Newton’s tattoos, although they’re somewhat ambivalent. On one hand, it’s plain WRONG, the Kaiju were not like that, so brilliant and awe-inspiring. On the other hand, the fact that Newt does see something in the Kaiju worth celebrating is… maybe just a little nice see, that someone might be on his side, or at least willing to listen. But yeah, I am SO happy to talk. This series has eaten my life. I have a small sketch of Kaiju!Hermann here: http://skull-bearer.tumblr.com/post/62107530030/because-a-reference-is-always-helpful

Okay so ANYONE WHO LIKED THIS DESIGN should go read Skull-Bearer’s Anteverse refugee series (bolded above for reference)

but what I really want to know is
how in the everloving fuck did we both come up with a four-armed design

like for real man here’s the rest of my design stuff (done in a feverish haze of not enough monster needs more monster): http://addertwist.tumblr.com/post/67938896062/okay-combining-the-kaijuhermann-stuff-into-one-thing

You did all that before reading my fic??? Holy shit WTF. Do we share a hivemind or Drifted without noticing? Because we seem to share a very specific and particular headcanon for no apparently friggin’ reason. But man, I LOVE this headcanon, there is so much fun to be had with it. Hermann is adorable and I love Newt is just a ball of ‘Holy fuck I am the luckiest guy in two universes.’ So much fun.

What the actual shit though, how did we-
I just really wanted to fuck with his gait, to be honest. It’d make an injured leg all that much more crippling, if he was used to having an extra set of limbs to compensate!
Also I went slightly different to you on the anatomy, but only slightly- the lower arms are set lower down, so their – well, elbows really- serve as a sort of collarbone/shoulder formation under clothes and skin, and his stumpier hands from the lower arms grasp his upper arm just above the elbow, which also serves to add bulk to his upper arm so he doesn’t look like a goddamn scarecrow for having wiry monkey-arms up top. The idea being that they’re good for grasping/climbing, whereas the lower set bear weight better and do more damage.

How though. How did we. I’m still confused.
(*whispers* did you like his fan of tails though)

I actually didn’t know how my Hermann would move until i drew him, then I realised I’d drawn him holding up his secondary arms for a reason: he walks just on his first pair, and keeps the secondary held close to his body so his claws stay sharp- they’re his primary weapons.

Can I ask why your Hermann needs a cane? In my fic it’s a result of long-term starvation (ten years with no food), it’s not that much of a problem when he’s not pretending to be human because it’s a lot easier to get along with a weak leg when you have five good ones.

Whhhhhyyyy did you write that he’d been in pit fights? I swear this is reinforcing my belief in a shared mental space. I want to meet you now and see if we’re long-lost clones or something.

Leave a Reply

